1. Home
  2. News

ICAR-CTCRI's Smart Farming Technology Earns Recognition at National Level

This national recognition of e-CBSF highlights its potential to revolutionize the agricultural sector in India and contribute significantly to food security, sustainability, and economic growth.

Shivam Dwivedi
ICAR-CTCRI's Smart Farming Technology Earns Recognition at National Level (Photo Source: ICAR-CTCRI)
ICAR-CTCRI's Smart Farming Technology Earns Recognition at National Level (Photo Source: ICAR-CTCRI)

The ICAR-Central Tuber Crops Research Institute (CTCRI) in Thiruvananthapuram has achieved a remarkable milestone with its e-crop based smart farming technology (e-CBSF). Recently, the technology was honoured at the 95th Foundation Day Ceremony of the Indian Council of Agricultural Research (ICAR) in New Delhi, where it was recognized as one of the top five technologies developed for the horticultural sector in 2022-23.

e-CBSF, an Internet of Things (IoT) enabled and crop model-based smart farming innovation, is designed to calculate the precise nitrogen, phosphorus, potassium, and water requirements of field crops. The main objective of this technology is to minimize the yield gap, thereby revolutionizing traditional farming practices.

The technology has been successfully applied to several crops, including cassava, sweet potato, elephant foot yam, and banana. By implementing e-CBSF, the yield gap for these crops has been remarkably reduced from 50% to an impressive 5%, showcasing the immense potential of the innovation.

One of the notable benefits of e-CBSF is its significant reduction in nutrient and water consumption. According to the CTCRI, nutrient and water savings range from 25% to 50%, leading to more sustainable and eco-friendly agricultural practices. Furthermore, the adaptability of this technology to other field crops by integrating suitable crop models holds the promise of even broader agricultural transformation.

Santhosh Mithra, the principal scientist and lead developer of e-CBSF, was honoured with a certificate during the prestigious ceremony. The event was graced by the presence of esteemed dignitaries, including Union Agriculture Minister Narendra Singh Tomar, Union Animal Husbandry and Fisheries Minister Parshottam Rupala, Minister of State for Agriculture Kailash Chowdhury, and ICAR Director General Himanshu Pathak.

The successful development of e-CBSF would not have been possible without the hard work and dedication of the associate developers from CTCRI, including scientists G. Byju, J. Sreekumar, and D. Jaganathan.

Take this quiz on World Meteorological Day to check your knowledge about meteorology! Take a quiz
Share your comments

Subscribe to our Newsletter. You choose the topics of your interest and we'll send you handpicked news and latest updates based on your choice.

Subscribe Newsletters