1. Home
  2. News

Punjab Power Minister Ensures 8-Hour Uninterrupted Power Supply for Agriculture

On Friday, the Power Minister, Harbhajan Singh ETO, paid a visit to the PSPCL office in Gurdaspur with the aim of assessing the preparations for the upcoming season's power supply.

Yash Saxena
Punjab Power Minister Ensures 8-Hour Uninterrupted Power Supply for Agriculture
Punjab Power Minister Ensures 8-Hour Uninterrupted Power Supply for Agriculture

The Punjab government, led by Chief Minister Bhagwant Mann, is actively undertaking comprehensive preparations for the forthcoming paddy seeding season during the approaching monsoon.

To evaluate and ensure seamless power supply arrangements for the upcoming season, Harbhajan Singh ETO, the Power Minister of Punjab, visited the PSPCL Office in Gurdaspur on Friday. During his visit, he provided clear directives to the competent officials, emphasizing the criticality of maintaining an uninterrupted electricity supply in the affected areas.

He specifically instructed the authorities to intensify field visits and conduct meticulous inspections of transformers, power lines, and other essential equipment, aiming to promptly rectify any identified issues and prevent disruptions. These measures aim to optimize power supply reliability and support the smooth execution of paddy seeding operations.

The state administration, as per the Cabinet Minister's announcement, has strategically divided Punjab into four zones to facilitate the systematic and efficient implementation of phased paddy delivery. Commencing on June 10 and concluding on June 21, paddy planting will occur in four distinct phases across the state. The Minister reassured the farmers that all essential measures will be undertaken to guarantee uninterrupted power supply during this crucial period.

As per the statement by Harbhajan Singh, ETO, the commencement of paddy sowing in border areas is scheduled for June 10, ensuring a continuous and uninterrupted power supply.

The second phase, starting on June 16, will encompass seven districts, namely Ferozepur, Faridkot, Pathankot, Sri Fatehgarh Sahib, Gurdaspur, SBS Nagar, and Tarn Taran. Subsequently, the third phase will encompass seven districts, including Rupnagar, SAS Nagar, Kapurthala, Ludhiana, Fazilka, Bathinda, and Amritsar.

From June 21 onwards, the remaining nine districts of Patiala, Jalandhar, Moga, Sri Muktsar Sahib, Hoshiarpur, Sangrur, Malerkotla, Barnala, and Mansa will be covered in the paddy sowing process.

Take this quiz on World Meteorological Day to check your knowledge about meteorology! Take a quiz
Share your comments
FactCheck in Agriculture Project

Subscribe to our Newsletter. You choose the topics of your interest and we'll send you handpicked news and latest updates based on your choice.

Subscribe Newsletters