1. Home
  2. Agriculture World

Narendra Singh Tomar, the New Agriculture Minister

Union Minister Narendra Singh Tomar, today 1st June 2019, took charge of the Ministry of Agriculture and Farmers welfare. Parshottam Rupala and Kailash Choudhary also took charge as Ministers of State in the Ministry. All senior officials of the Ministry welcomed the Union Minister and the Ministers of State.

Chander Mohan

Union Minister Narendra Singh Tomar, today 1st June 2019, took charge of the Ministry of Agriculture and Farmers welfare. Parshottam Rupala and Kailash Choudhary also took charge as Ministers of State in the Ministry. All senior officials of the Ministry welcomed the Union Minister and the Ministers of State.  

Union Minister Narendra Singh Tomar lauded Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi for his dynamic leadership and his concern for farmers. He said acting on poll promises, Modi Government in its first cabinet meeting approved extension of the PM-Kisan income support scheme to all farmers, removing the ceiling of two hectares and also cleared a pension scheme for agriculturists. A new initiative was also taken to control animal diseases to support livestock rearing farmers.  

The Minister said that the path breaking pension scheme will provide pension cover to farmers who toil day and night to keep our nation fed.

On PM-Kisan he said that the revised Scheme is expected to cover around 2 crore more farmers, increasing the coverage of PM-Kisan to around 14.5 crore beneficiaries.  He was also appointed as the Minister of Rural Development and Panchayati Raj. 

Narendra Singh Tomar, a three-time MP who has made to the Union Cabinet for the second time, has come a long way in politics after starting as a BJP youth wing leader in the early 80s.  It was Tomar who conducted the ceremony in the Central Hall of Parliament when Narendra Modi was unanimously elected by the NDA's constituent parties as their leader. Born on June 12, 1957, at Murar in Gwalior district, Tomar was president of the Gwalior unit of the BJP youth wing from 1980-84. 

He was elected as a councilor in 1983, entered the Madhya Pradesh assembly in 1998 and served as a minister in the BJP government in the state from 2003-2007. Later he was appointed as state BJP president. After a brief stint as a Rajya Sabha member, Tomar was elected to the Lok Sabha from Morena in 2009. 

In 2014, he won the Lok Sabha election from Gwalior and was made a cabinet minister, heading several ministries including mines, steel, labour and employment and rural development and Panchayati raj. He returned to Morena in the 2019 election, winning by a margin of over 1.13 lakh votes. 

The agriculture minister post was earlier held by Radha Mohan Singh. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won a landslide 303 seats out of the total of 543 while the opposition Congress party won just 8 more seats than its abysmal 2014 performance. In all, BJP and its allies -- the NDA -- won 353 seats with the Congress-led United Progressive Alliance topped 92 seats. 


Heartiest Congratulations to the New Agriculture Minister from Krishi Jagran Team!! 

Take this quiz on World Meteorological Day to check your knowledge about meteorology! Take a quiz

Related Articles

Share your comments

Subscribe to our Newsletter. You choose the topics of your interest and we'll send you handpicked news and latest updates based on your choice.

Subscribe Newsletters